Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Cheek To Cheek

2009-04-27 - 10:49 a.m.

It's Monday morning, and here's your Laila update:

During the first part of her convalescence, I had been putting her in the bathroom with a litter box and food and water. Since she's been healing so well, this weekend I started letting her stay in the living room/kitchen. I closed off my bedroom so she wouldn't be tempted to go under my bed. I also closed off the bathroom - I didn't want her trying to jump into the tub.

Well, she and Solange have managed not to kill each other. Laila continues to have litter box trouble, but that's expected. Actually, there's some good news on that front. Laila had been using the litter box only twice a day, so the amount of waste was fairly substantial. Now, she's going more frequently and emitting less. There's still messes to clean up, but that's okay.

As Brin previously reported, Laila has learned how to climb into my armchair and back down again. This morning, she tried - and failed, to climb onto one of the chairs at the table. She'll get her go back very soon.

===

Also since Saturday, I've started sleeping on the floor in the living room.

It's not that bad. I do have one of those inflatable mattresses (like an Aero Bed - you all have seen the commercials), but I'm concerned about Laila hauling herself onto it. She'd most likely use her claws, and that would be a Bad Thing.

The mattress did come with a patch kit, but why risk it?

===

Yesterday, there was an encouraging sign in the cat detente.

Solange came up and gave Laila one of those sideways head-butts. You know, when two cats walk together and one rubs his cheek into the other one's cheek? Yeah, like that.

I'm taking that as a good sign. They still wrestle a little, but I'm very hopeful Laila will stay.

===

The donations have topped the $1000 mark, in less than two weeks. I am honored and humbled and so grateful beyond words. Thank you all.

If you would like to contribute, please click on the button to the left. Any amount would be wonderful; as Brin said, "It doesn't have to be a lot, honest it doesn't. As you can see, the notalots have really added up."

Indeed they have.

===

I spoke way back here about a recall being issued on my car.

Well, I had called that day and found out that, although the recall had been issued (to repair an oil leak that might cause a fire), the dealership had no repair instructions yet. They told me to call back the next week.

I finally did that last Friday. They have the repair instructions, so I'll be going to take care of that Thursday morning, bright and early. They also told me that there have been no reports of any fires caused by this problem.

Let's keep it that way, shall we?

===

So the plan continues to be as follows:

Laila goes to the vet on Wednesday to get the cast off and the stitches out. She'll be boarded there for a couple days during her "restricted movement" phase. While she's gone, I'll be doing some clean up and taking care of the car.

Friday she comes home. And the Cat Relationship goes to a new level.

===

Okay. I have things to do before work.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.